No-Fault Insurance Laws

Auto insurance provision, instituted state by state that allows policyholders to recoup financial losses from their own insurance company following an accident, no matter who was at fault.

Under no-fault insurance laws, the insurer pays the insured first-party benefits. Still, it restricts the right to sue for both injury and pain and suffering to certain conditions and dollar limits. Known as a threshold, these conditions depend on injury severity and are limited in amount.

No-fault auto insurance works to lower premium costs while providing quick payment for injuries. 12 states currently have no-fault insurance laws, including Florida, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Utah.


or call us 800-448-9243